Illustration

UNESCO World Heritage Zollverein



The Zeche Zollverein in Essen was considered the most modern mining facility in its day and is now considered a landmark of the Ruhr area. With the title of the only UNESCO World Heritage Site in the Ruhr Metropolis, it inspires millions of visitors from all over the world every year. And its remarkable history stands for the industrial development of the whole region. As a symbol of the old and new Ruhr area, the Zollverein is an impressive symbol of the structural change that has transformed the mining region into a modern Ruhr metropolis in one of the largest metropolitan areas in Europe.

However, the UNESCO World Heritage Site Zollverein is not just a monument, it also offers plenty of space for a wide range of cultural and leisure activities. It is home to the choreographic center PACT Zollverein, the location of the Folkwang University of the Arts and, with the Ruhr Museum, houses one of the most renowned museums in the region.

The architect duo Schupp and Kremmer, who designed the central pit 12 with the striking double trestle headframe, are closely associated with the myth of the Zollverein. The colliery closed in 1986, and in 1993 the ovens in the coking plant went out. In the 1990s, the Zollverein became the showcase project for the International Building Exhibition ( IBA ) Emscher Park. In 2001 it was recognized as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

The former industrial site, where only production margins and efficiency were once sought, now houses a number of museums and offers exciting guided tours with former miners and cokers. This place is now a center for culture, art, teaching and design and hosts several prestigious events. In addition, the topic of industrial nature is acknowledged in a variety of ways and offers, for example, a portal to put the European industrial cultures and the industrial culture route in the limelight using multimedia.

Tours also with former cokers and miners, concerts, theater and festivals, award-winning design in the Red Dot Design Museum, the company swimming pool and the most unusual ice rink in the world at the foot of the coke ovens: the Zollverein program is unmistakable. Active people can discover industrial nature in the Zollverein Park, on cycling and jogging routes.


Audioguides
YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
Read more

Load video

Gelsenkirchen street 181
45309 food
Phone: + 49 201 246810
eMail: info@zollverein.de
Click here to visit the website
To Google Maps

Always open

The site is open all the time.

The site is freely accessible. Entrance fees vary depending on the museum.

Free entry

Car parking spaces available
Bus stop available
Bad weather offer
for any weather
for groups
for school classes
for families
for individual guests
Pets Allowed
suitable for seniors
for children (any age)
Suitable for prams
for children (0-3 years)
for children (3-6 years)
for children (6-10 years)
for children (from 10 years)
German
English
Eintritt frei
Payment in cash
Children's playground (outdoor)
toilet facility
Accessibility checked
partly barrier-free for people with walking difficulties
partially barrier-free for wheelchair users
partly barrier-free for people with visual impairments
partially barrier-free blind people
Expeditionary environment

Other stations nearby

Abbildung

UNESCO-Welterbe Zollverein



Die Zeche Zollverein in Essen galt zu ihrer Zeit als modernste Bergwerksanlage und gilt heute als Wahrzeichen des Ruhrgebiets. Mit dem Titel des einzigen UNESCO-Welterbes der Metropole Ruhr begeistert sie jährlich Millionen Besucher aus der ganzen Welt. Und ihre bemerkenswerte Geschichte steht für die industrielle Entwicklung der ganzen Region. Als Symbol des alten und des neuen Ruhrgebiets ist Zollverein ein eindrucksvolles Sinnbild des Strukturwandels, der die Bergbauregion in eine moderne Metropole Ruhr in eines der größten Ballungsräume Europas verwandelt hat.

Das UNESCO-Welterbe Zollverein ist jedoch nicht nur Denkmal sondern bietet auch sehr viel Raum für vielfältige Kultur- und Freizeitaktivitäten. Es ist Heimat des Choreographischen Zentrums PACT Zollverein, Standort der Folkwang Universität der Künste und beherbergt mit dem Ruhr Museum eines der renommiertesten Museen der Region.

Mit dem Mythos Zollverein eng verbunden ist das Architekten-Duo Schupp und Kremmer, das die Zentralschachtanlage 12 mit dem markanten Doppelbock-Fördergerüst entwarf. 1986 schloss die Zeche, 1993 erloschen die Öfen der Kokerei. In den 1990er-Jahren wurde Zollverein zum Vorzeigeprojekt der Internationalen Bauausstellung ( IBA ) Emscher Park. 2001 folgte die Auszeichnung als UNESCO-Welterbe.

Das ehemalige Industriegelände, auf dem früher nur nach Produktionsmargen und Effizienz gestrebt wurde, beherbergt nun eine Reihe von Museen und ermöglicht spannende Führungen mit ehemaligen Bergleuten und Kokern. Dieser Ort ist heute ein Zentrum für Kultur, Kunst, Lehre und Design und ist Austragungsort mehrerer prestigeträchtiger Veranstaltungen. Außerdem wird auf vielseitige Weise das Thema Industrienatur gewürdigt und bietet etwa ein Portal, um die europäischen Industriekulturen und die Route Industriekultur multimedial ins Rampenlicht zu rücken.

Führungen auch mit ehemaligen Kokern und Bergleuten, Konzerte, Theater und Festivals, preisgekröntes Design im Red Dot Design Museum, das Werksschwimmbad und die ungewöhnlichste Eisbahn der Welt am Fuß der Koksöfen: Das Zollverein- Programm ist unverwechselbar. Aktive können Industrienatur im Zollverein-Park, auf Rad- und Joggingstrecken entdecken.


Audioguide
YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Gelsenkirchener Straße 181
45309 Essen
Telefon: +49 201 246810
eMail: info@zollverein.de
Zur Webseite
Zu Google Maps

Immer geöffnet

Das Gelände ist durchgängig geöffnet.

Das Gelände ist frei zugänglich. Je nach Museum unterschiedliche Eintrittspreise.



Kostenfreier Eintritt

PKW-Parkplätze vorhanden
Bushaltestelle vorhanden
für jedes Wetter
Eintritt frei
Expeditives Milieu

Weitere Stationen in der Nähe